• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • freddie

Mar 20, 2013
    Do I need an attitude adjustment?

Yesterday at the range I shot four handguns.

Had my ears plugged and muffed - loud magnum cannons going off left and right of me.

I could barely hear my Ruger Mark III Target - kind of a Pssst

Quickly went to 38 special followed by 45ACP both of which provided welcome sound and recoil. Good time at last.

So, anyone else give up on shooting 22LR at a range.

ihriec

Aug 10, 2013
    Funny, I feel the same way. I love shooting various 38, 357 and 45 reloads at the range but really want to plink with the 22lr / 22wmr outside. Would love to take out a speed camera.

freddie

Mar 20, 2013
    Since I started shooting steel with 22lr...I don't punch paper very much anymore.

Steel definitely the way to go - unfortunately I don't have MD access - but I do at least get to shoot cans, jugs, steel four times a year in Kentucky.

I am a little old fart but I still prefer high caliber recoil and sound for handguns.

Nothing like hitting a steel target with my 460 Magnum and taking out a deer for family cookout.

501st

Ultimate Member
    Jun 16, 2011
    Do I need an attitude adjustment?

Yesterday at the range I shot four handguns.

Had my ears plugged and muffed - loud magnum cannons going off left and right of me.

I could barely hear my Ruger Mark III Target - kind of a Pssst

Quickly went to 38 special followed by 45ACP both of which provided welcome sound and recoil. Good time at last.

So, anyone else give up on shooting 22LR at a range.

Kel - Tec PMR 30 is the solution to your problems.

altima98

Apr 6, 2008
    I use .22lr so I don't need to shoot 500 rnds of other rounds...

Range trip
    20 rnds of 223
    50 rnds of 9mm
    50 rnds of 45
    10 rnds of 308