• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Silent Scope

Dec 12, 2012
    Rockville, MD
    Hey everyone, I'm looking to start taking part in competitive shooting events in the area. I'm interested in having fun, and have grown tired of static range shooting. I'm trying to gain some insight on local competitions for IDPA, USPSA, and 3-Gun. I live in Rockville, MD and I'm not familiar with any comps or ranges around me. My current setup for competitions would be stock Glock 19(I have a 34 on order), AR, Mossberg 590. So far I don't have any equipment other than magazines. I'm also a broke college student and don't want to waste money buying things more than once. I'm looking at doing this as a hobby, not really to be competitive or attend every match, I would probably like to attend about once a month. Any answers to the following questions would be helpful, thanks guys.

Where do most people from the area compete?
    Do I need any training to be eligible to compete?
    Are there any good dynamic training courses in the area?
    How much does a competition typically cost?
    How often do most of you compete?
    What mag/holster setups are popular?
    Any holster and mag holster suggestions for the Glock?
    Any mag pouch, vest or belt suggestions for the AR?
    What optics combos do you like? I'm looking at an Eotech or Aimpoint with a magnifier.
    Does anyone compete with an AK-74, is steel ammo always prohibited?
    Where do you shop for ammo?
    How much ammo do you typically go through in a year?
    Why hasn't anyone made a FAQ sticky for this?

davsco

Ultimate Member
    Oct 21, 2010
    Loudoun, VA