• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • hillbilly grandpa

Jan 26, 2013
    Arnold
    I'm a reloading newbie. First run at reloading .223 ammo. What do you recommend for powder? Does bullet weight affect the powder used?

Thanks in advance for your guidance. That's why MDS is my go to source.

jr355

Apr 21, 2014
    Fullerton md
    First get several reloading manuals and read them. No one manual will cover all the issues you'll be faced with. For loads look online for powder companies load data like Reloading Data Center | Hodgdon or accurate arms site. Powder is what you can find locally and yes bullet weight does affect powder choices. To start why not go with the 55gr. FMJ, cost is low and most rifles will handle them fine. After you gain some experience start experimenting with other weights and bullet styles. Good luck, you're going down a rabbit hole with NO bottom. See ya on the way down!

There are several powders that you can use for 556/223. I'm partial to IMR 3031 because it gives me the best accuracy but because it's a stick pattern meaning that the grains are in the form of very small elongated stick like granules it can be hard to measure.

I also like the Accurate LT32. It burns pretty clean and can be less expensive than other powders for that caliber.

Right now as hard as it can be to find some powders and as expensive as they have become you may want to search and find what you can get. Always try to buy local first. That will keep you from paying the hazardous materials shipping fees as well as the regular shipping fees.

4g64loser

Bad influence
    Jan 18, 2007
    maryland