• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Fordracer2082

Jun 10, 2007
    Glen Burnie
    I am looking to buy a new rifle within 6 days or so .I am looking at one in ether 270 Win or 308 Win. I am having problems deciding which so I am looking for any pros one has over the other to help me decide .I rifle will be many for deer and maybe Black Bear here in Maryland .I have little experience with rifles all I have shot are 22 and 30-30.

kstone803

Official Meat Getter
    Feb 25, 2009
    Ltown in the SMC
    .270 Its all i hunt deer with and I love it. I had a similar situation when purchasing my last rifle but it was between the .270 and .30-06. I love the .270. Shoots great and doesn't kick too hard

fivepointstar

Thank you MD-Goodbye
    Apr 28, 2008
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    If you decide on a .270 Win let me know, I'm selling my Winchester M70 in that caliber. I wanted to go hunting this season and give it a try but I changed my mind and decided to buy my meat at the market. Its used in good cond. Sorry I can't help you more, this is my first hunting rifle.

mikec

Ultimate Member
    Dec 1, 2007
    Off I-83
    The .270 is based on the .30-06 round and is built on what is called a long action. The .308, which is a shorter round, is built on the short action.

You would have to compare the bullet weights and ballistics of each round for the game you intend to hunt.

You might want to venture to a shop and see how each feels to you.

Russ D

Ultimate Member
    Nov 10, 2008
    Sykesville