• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • gunup

Jun 17, 2010
    Towson, MD.
    Hey what's going on everybody? I just joined up wanted to introduce myself to everyone. I'm also new to shooting guns. Just purchased my first 1 about a month ago. XDM 40 caliber, awesome gun love it. My next purchase will be a shotgun. Any recommendations will be greatly appreciated.

Patrick

MSI Executive Member
    Apr 26, 2009
    Calvert County
    Welcome aboard, Sir.

A Remington 870 is the venerable shotgun of the Americas. A million options there. Next is probably Mossberg. You cannot go wrong with either. I got two 870s in two gauges. Happy with both.

I think 20 ga. is great for home defense. 12 ga. great for hunting (although 20 is good here, too). The trick is controlling what you shoot.

Just remember that slug guns come with rifled barrels or smooth barrels. Slugs come rifled and not. Don't mix or confuse the two or you'll end up with a mess - in other words, don't put rifled slugs through a rifled barrel.

Bikebreath

R.I.P.
    MDS Supporter
    Jun 30, 2009
    in the bowels of Baltimore
    Welcome...been a handgun owner for one year next month.

I have the XDm 9mm.

I have 2 shotguns, both autos; cheap Charles Daly and a pawn shop Remington 1100.

There's a bunch of us shot trap/skeet north of Baltimore on Thurs.

mbz300sdl

Gone living free now!!!
    Apr 12, 2010
    South Carolina
    Welcome
    If you want a pump go with a Remington or Mossberg only reason I don't have either is I got an awesome deal on a Chinese made gun.

If you want a semi I started a thread asking about these just search under the shotguns section.

august1410

Marcas Registradas
    Apr 10, 2009
    New Bern, NC