• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • hi3cho

Ultimate Member
    Nov 16, 2012
    Edgemere
    So I am new to hunting, I have been Deer hunting a few times on friend's private land in their ladder stands. I have been lucky enough to get a spot in a hunting club this year with a buddy of mine. I planned on buying a nice ladder stand to put up on the property but my buddy said they generally build permanent stands. I am not concerned with movability or losing the land or club so that is not really a concern. The price is very reasonable for the club so I am not concerned with the investment in the stand.

I guess what I am looking for are some ideas of what you may have built or seen. My initial idea is to build a box blind like the one he showed me. Here are what I am looking for suggests on.

Base Size? 4x4, 6x6?
    Roof Height? 6', 8'?
    Ladder Height? 15', 20'?
    Windows? 3 Sides? Height/Dimensions for Shooting Angles?
    Materials? 2x4's, Plywood, T1-11 Walls,
    Paint or Cover in Camo?

I like the idea of a covered blind because it should mask any movement and help with weather/wind and being permanent the deer will get used to seeing it. Any advice/insight would be helpful

Archeryrob

Undecided on a great many things
    Mar 7, 2013
    Washington Co. - Fairplay
    IMO, if you're needing a blind to hide your movements, you have more training for yourself on how to sit still and hunt. Personally, I would prefer several stands over one and hunt the most wind favorable one.

I can't recommend a box blind as I haven't used one. I am going to assume you only will rifle hunt then.

Doco Overboard

Ultimate Member