• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SolomonsCommune

Tomato Grower
    Mar 28, 2013
    Calvert County
    I'm a total AR virgin. I just put together a lower sans the stock kit which will be here tuesday. Have a complete upper from PSA and installed the BCG and handle.

First question:

I have no ammo for this gun and don't have a ton of money to do so. I see lots of steel cased ammo for cheap on gunbot. Would it be better to order 500 rnds of Wolf Polyformance at $107 plus shipping for target shooting and just to have ammo in the safe or would it be worth it to use a free shipping coupon and get re-manufactured brass ammo from Freedommunitions for $144? I'm not so worried about the price difference as I am what would be better for the gun, more reliable etc.

Second question:

Total noob question but I didn't want to spend 50 or 60 for a magpul rear sight and got an AimSports rear sight like this one :

http://aimsportsinc.com/products/96...ip-up-sight-w-single-plane-dual-aperture.html

I'm assuming it's supposed to fold backwards to the rear of the gun, correct? At least that's how I have it installed on the upper. Just wanted to make sure as I could not find a picture anywhere on the net of this sight on a gun.

Thanks for any info you can give me as I'm totally amped up to get the stock on this week and go give it a test run.

mopar92

Official MDS Court Jester
    May 5, 2011
    Taneytown
    For the rear sight. Direction of fold does not matter. What matters is the aperture. Make sure the curve of the smaller rear aperture is away from you. It should be concave to draw your eye to it. Use the smaller aperture for zeroing and use the FRONT SIGHT for elevation adjustments.
    Research your zero carefully. There's the 25/300 the 50/200 and the 36/300.
    I recommend the 36 yard zero.