• Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • I have a question, I'm new to MD, I moved here from out of state where I purchased a pistol from the out of state gun shop years ago. Do I have to register this pistol in MD? I went through the normal 4473 paperwork drill when I originally bought the pistol in my old state.

esqappellate

President, MSI
    Feb 12, 2012
    I have a question, I'm new to MD, I moved here from out of state where I purchased a pistol from the out of state gun shop years ago. Do I have to register this pistol in MD? I went through the normal 4473 paperwork drill when I originally bought the pistol in my old state.

No.

chale127

Ultimate Member
    Nov 5, 2008
    Brooklyn, MD
    As long as it was originally purchased legally you are good

the MD law states registration is VOLUNTARY...meaning DON'T DO IT

Ethan83

Ultimate Member
    Jan 8, 2009
    Baltimoreish
    Hell no. Registration is voluntary. MD doesn't really regulate the ownership so much (in general), mostly just transfers. If you already own it, you're good-to-go.

-Z/28-

I wanna go fast
    Dec 6, 2011
    Harford Co
    This is on the up and up, bought it at a normal gun shop. I just wanted to make sure because I hear strange things about MD gun laws. Thanks!

Like they said, you're good to go.
    MD law regarding handguns is actually somewhat straight forward. It's the regulated vs unregulated long guns, magazine capacity, and transportation laws that are muddy.