• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • drshooter

Nov 19, 2012
    towson
    I recently bought an Smith and wesson M&P(9) 9mm. i want to know what good ammo for target ractice and to use in an emergency for home defend? cheap ammo? i am new to this , also a good website for bulk ammo.

thanks

matt

No one special
    Apr 9, 2011
    For target- Cheap 9mm 115 fmj.

Cabellas usually has decent prices, ammoman.com (price is shipped)
    Georgia arms makes nice stuff

Indiana Jones

Wolverine
    Mar 18, 2011
    CCN
    Federal, American eagle, fiochi, Winchester white box, and PMC are all cheap choices for range shooting. There are a ton of different defensive rounds. Most of the companies make them.

Surplusammo.com
    Ammoman.com
    Cheaper than dirt

Free state usually has bulk too

FFMike

Ultimate Member
    Feb 4, 2010
    Howard County
    For target I buy Walmart WWB, Federal, sometimes I get bulk Wolf... For self defense I use Hornady Citical Defense. All cycle perfectly and are reliable in my Glock 19, M&P 9C.....

Mikey

May 19, 2009
    Ridge MD
    Both my M&P 9mm pistols prefer heavy bullets. I reload and now only shoot 147gr ammo. If your shooting is limited to less than 15yds, any weight works well. At 25yds I was able to go from 8" with WWB to 3" with my reloads. If your M&P is newer (2012) S&W has made some barrel changes that is supposed to help with all loads.

smokey

2A TEACHER
    Jan 31, 2008
    http://www.mdshooters.com/showthread.php?t=84717
    Target=anything cheap

defense:
    speer- gold dot 124+p/147
    federal- hst 124+p/147/147+p
    winchester- pdx1 147
    rangers too
    remington- golden saber bonded 124+p/147
    hornady- critical duty 135+p
    cor-bon- 115+p dpx