• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • hi3cho

Ultimate Member
    Nov 16, 2012
    Edgemere
    So this may be a dumb question but I am new to hunting. Can you bow hunt at Loch Raven during Firearm season? I was under the impression bow was open from Mid-September until the end of January. However looking at the calendar it shows it as being closed for when muzzleloader and firearm seasons are open. I know the lesser weapon makes it where you can buy the season for each weapon and still use a bow in all season. However since Loch Raven is only Bow and on the website it says open only during bow season, does that mean it closes during the other seasons?

hi3cho

Ultimate Member
    Nov 16, 2012
    Edgemere
    Yes, but wear an orange vest and hat.

Yes, I did see that but again with Loch Raven being Bow Only, what would be the reason for having to wear a vest during firearm season? Thanks for the reply though. Am I okay with just my Bow license or do I need the purcahse the $6 for Firearm and $6 for Muzzleloader if I bowhunt during those seasons at Loch Raven?

Derwood

Ultimate Member
    Jun 2, 2011
    DC area
    My understanding is that you don't need to pay for the other stamps if you're not using those weapons, but since that is a unique place, you might just call the DNR to be sure. A quick call will set your mind at ease. An uneasy mind while sitting waiting for deer for # hours is no fun. Since it's bow only you might not need orange, but personally I'd at least keep it in my bag just in case I heard a shot. I've hunted some of the duck seasons that overlap with firearm deer seasons and was once caught out with no orange on public land and regretted it.

hi3cho

Ultimate Member
    Nov 16, 2012
    Edgemere