• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • cspafford

SSG, MP, SC
    Mar 9, 2010
    I was poking around the MD DNR website and found there is late season light (aka "snow") goose hunting in MD. I'm looking to get in on this, but don't know where to start looking for hunting grounds. I would prefer not to pay for a managed hunt or use a hunt club - simply because I'm broke all the time...lol

Any suggestions as to where to hunt snow geese in MD? Would prefer Baltimore County or Anne Arundel County areas.

vwluv10338

Jan 13, 2009
    Just a disclaimer: I just got into hunting this year so I have no direct knowledge.

I looked into this as well and in my reading this is what I have found. Snow geese fly in hudge flocks, as in thousands. The problem with this is they do not like to land in fields unless there are more birds on the ground than in their flock. Because of this you need a lot of decoys. I have seen people use bags to be cheap and easy to get a lot of decoys out.

lax

Ultimate Member
    Feb 12, 2008
    Baldwin
    Just a disclaimer: I just got into hunting this year so I have no direct knowledge.

I looked into this as well and in my reading this is what I have found. Snow geese fly in hudge flocks, as in thousands. The problem with this is they do not like to land in fields unless there are more birds on the ground than in their flock. Because of this you need a lot of decoys. I have seen people use bags to be cheap and easy to get a lot of decoys out.

been told the same by guides, you need hundreds of decoys, their honk is very different it is more of a bark compared to Canadian geese

xtreme43s10

Ultimate Member
    Mar 19, 2007
    maryland, in Mont county