• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • shocker998md

Ultimate Member
    May 29, 2009
    Snow Hill MD
    So I have an 18" noveske spr barreled AR that I built that I will be reloading for soon. Its 1/7 twist. It will be magazine fed.

So I have not ordered bullets for it yet. Powder wise I have some CFE223 and H335 to start with.

So what bullets would you order for paper but mostly critter control. My plan is to pratice on paper and then move up to coyote and ground hog at some distance hopefully.

Speed3

Ultimate Member
    Aug 19, 2011
    MD
    what distance you shooting.... paper at 600, 77gr SMKs or 75gr Hornady match HPBT's over varget.

H335 seems to work awesome but I have zero experience.

I have some Ramshot TAC also that I hear good things about.

shocker998md

Ultimate Member
    May 29, 2009
    Snow Hill MD
    I forgot I have a pound of varget too. Distance, I want to take this rifle to max effective range on a man size target on paper. If I can run an M4 out to 500 yards without any problems I think i can strech this ones legs to 700 yards.

Bolts Rock

Living in Free America!
    Apr 8, 2012
    Northern Alabama
    75 HPBT Hornady, 77SMK or 77 Nosler over 24.5gr Varget (assuming you have a Wylde or 5.56 chamber) with Rem 7-1/2 or Wolf SRM primers.

H335 use 52 A-Max or V-Max for 55 FMJBT.

No experience with CFE223.

shocker998md

Ultimate Member
    May 29, 2009
    Snow Hill MD
    I was mostly looking for input on projectiles. Id rather have someone recomend two or three different heavy rounds then just randomly order and try them out right now.

Ill try and track down some of those 75 HPBT Hornadys and some 77 SMKs.

bmorewineguy

Sep 29, 2013
    Edgewater
    I just finished a build with a 1/7 twist barrel as well and will be looking to build some rounds using larger grain projectiles.