• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Blacksmith101

Grumpy Old Man
    Jun 22, 2012
    The thought occurred to me that since after October 1st the only common way you can transfer a regulated assault weapon in the state of Maryland is through your death because non prohibited people can still inherit them for the time being. So who do you want to have yours? The only way to be certain is through a will (or possibly a trust) because if you do not have a will the laws of "Intestate Succession in Maryland" will automatically decide how your assets are divided. I suspect the MSP will want to see a copy of the will or the other documents before allowing transfer.

I am not a lawyer but have been a "personal representative" and inheritance is very complicated with lots of things you don't expect. Hopefully some of our lawyers will chime in.

The laws of "Intestate Succession in Maryland" determine who gets what if there is no will and rather than try to give you all the combinations I will give a couple of links to get you started.

The NOLO site has a nice chart showing relationships and has more information than the "official" site:
    http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/intestate-succession-maryland.html

Here is the "Official" web site, typical Maryland, so read the law to be certain:
    http://registers.maryland.gov/main/packets/wills.html

Telling people who gets what or leaving letters or notes won't work with the legal system and since regulated firearms will need an official transfer to take ownership you should consult an attorney because if you don't have a will some of the following might happen.

The guns that you want to go to your grand children end up as your wife's and then they have to wait until she dies and hopefully she has a will.