Not open for further replies.

Safetech

I open big metal boxes
    May 28, 2011
    Dundock
    Squatters= Trespassers IMHO

Call the cops...

All depends.

I'm not a lawyer. (And therefore am not going to attempt to give "legal advice") But as a locksmith for over 30 years, I've been involved in many evictions. (Mostly in Baltimore City and Baltimore County)

Generally, if the "squatters" did not break in (IOW - someone - previous tenant, etc. "let them move in") and they have "taken up residence", the landlord usually must go through eviction proceedings to get them out.

Yes. I know that sucks. But that is generally the way the law works.

If the landlord locks the out, they could end up with the court allowing them to stay - for free - for a time determined by the judge. (Not to mention possible monetary damages - especially if the people "claim" that anything of theirs is now missing/damaged.

Again... sucks! But the system is stacked against the landlord - especially in the city. And too many people know how to "play the system".

Not sure how it works in AA Co.. But I would tread very lightly here, or it could end up being a very costly mistake.

Now if they kicked in a door, and are just "flopping" there (as far as I know) all bets are off. Call the cops.

Fodder4Thought

New Dad!!
    Jul 19, 2009
    Oh, man, that sucks.

Are they actively sucking you dry, or just occupying space that should go to a paying tenant?

MauiWowie

I have the SIGness...
    Nov 23, 2008
    Harford Co.
    need details?

Where these renters that signed a lease and are now not paying?
    I had a "professional" renter in one of my properties that cost me $15K
    being a landlord can be great and can be a nightmare. Document everything with registered mail and lots of pictures. Begin the eviction process.
    I wish you the best. I ended up paying my renter $2k to leave so it would save me money.... It sucks that every law out there is for the renter and not for the owner.