• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • matt

No one special
    Apr 9, 2011
    So I'm new to the hunting world (Completed the hunters safety course this past weekend) and I'm also in the market for a new house. (House hunting sucks).

Here's the question - How much land is needed to legally and safely (and curtiously with out pissing off your neighbors) hunt on your property with a bow? I've been trying out my bing-foo and having little luck locating regulations, etc. I've got the permitting thing down and understood.

Thanks in advance for the help!

-Matt

lx1x

Peanut Gallery
    Apr 19, 2009
    Maryland
    depending on location. certain distance from dwelllings/buildings etc. whats your property backed to? what if the game got out of your property.. how you going to retrieve it from neighbors?

few question you need to ask.. ;)

matt

No one special
    Apr 9, 2011
    few question you need to ask.. ;)

Those are the questions that I am asking but being new, didn't know what specifically to ask.

Who do I ask those questions to - my neighbors - "Hey, If I get a deer in my yard with a bow, and it enters your yard, can I retreive it?"

Can you post the regs for Montgomery County (yuck).

-Matt

Name Taken

Ultimate Member
    Feb 23, 2010
    Central
    Probably the best answer is if you have to ask you dont have enough land.

Also certain area's, even with a lot of land, it might be prohibited of discharging a firearm.

matt

No one special
    Apr 9, 2011
    am pretty sure it is 150 yards from a dwelling. It should be on the DNR's website.

It would be now hunting, so the firearm laws need not apply (unless I'm seriously missing something). Does the 150yds apply to bow?

hvymax

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Apr 19, 2010
    Dentsville District 28