• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • DDShooter

May 13, 2020
    I am new to hunting and wonder how people navigate so they don't get lost in the woods. Do we rely on the GPS on our smartphone -- not sure if we can always get good cell phone signal in the woods and mountains? Is it necessary to buy an actual GPS, campass, and/or map?

lawrencewendall

Been There, Done That
    Oct 10, 2009
    Old school topographic map and compass. Learn terrain features. Don't trust electronics/signals when they're needed most.

Bullfrog

Ultimate Member
    Oct 8, 2009
    Carroll County
    I am new to hunting and wonder how people navigate so they don't get lost in the woods. Do we rely on the GPS on our smartphone -- not sure if we can always get good cell phone signal in the woods and mountains? Is it necessary to buy an actual GPS, campass, and/or map?

GPS doesn't need a cell connection, it's recieve only.

You can set up google maps to download your local area so the maps are available even when you don't have a signal.

I believe there are downloadable maps from other sources too, but I haven't looked into that for a while. Openstreetmap used to be one.

mpollan1

Foxtrot Juliet Bravo
    MDS Supporter
    Sep 26, 2012
    Мэриленд
    On a somewhat related note, I compared the compass app readings on my Moto G and iPhone 8 the other night. Both "well calibrated". Man oh man were the readings different by ~ 20 degrees.

camo556

Ultimate Member
    Aug 29, 2021
    Depends where you are hunting. In Central Maryland, its hard to get lost in the woods. Its so bright some nights I dont even need a light.

dagmars

BANNED!!!
    Feb 27, 2022