• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • noahhh

Jan 28, 2009
    Arnold,Md
    Pardon my ignorance, but I'm new to all this. I know Maryland restricts AR magazine capacity to ten rounds, that it is illegal to sell higher capacity AR mags here in the state. My question is: is it illegal to own one? Reason being I found a couple of old milsurp 20's I had from 30+ years ago. Should I dispose of them quietly or just keep them in a drawer for a "rainy day"? What happens if perchance I'm caught with them?

rbird7282

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Dec 6, 2012
    Columbia
    Perfectly legal to possess and use in the state. You may not buy, transfer, sell, or offer them for sale within the state. Go to Virginia and buy as many as you want.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

iH8DemLibz

When All Else Fails.
    Apr 1, 2013
    Libtardistan
    You're new to all this AR stuff AND you have a couple of 20 round AR mags from 30+ years ago?

DNCWR

PS: 20s are not illegal to own and use. Just can't buy or sell them in Not-So-Maryland.

noahhh

Jan 28, 2009
    Arnold,Md
    You're new to all this AR stuff AND you have a couple of 20 round AR mags from 30+ years ago?

DNCWR

PS: 20s are not illegal to own and use. Just can't buy or sell them in Not-So-Maryland.

Yeah, new to the current rules/regs concerning ownership of AR stuff in Maryland. My previous experience was with an early Colt SP-1 when I lived in Pennsylvania back in the 80's- long ago in a galaxy far away. Until my recent AR purchase, I hadn't concerned myself much with what has transpired.

HRDWRK

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    Jan 7, 2013
    39°43′19.92216″ N