• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • shrinkwrap

MDS Supporter
    Apr 30, 2012
    MoCo
    Seems as if Gilbert's is always looking to come up with new ways to annoy customers (and, of course extract another penny from them). I was there yesterday to complete a course of fire with a student. As I have for years, I sat down at the table in the showroom area for about 2 minutes to complete the necessary form. On my way out I was told that the newest rule (there's something new every 2 weeks) is that I would need to pay $25 to rent the table next time.

So let's get this straight. As an instructor I bring in students to the range, each of whom pay about $50 for probably 20 minutes, and we SHARE a lane. In the next 2 weeks or so I will be bringing in a total of 16 people. Gilbert's will be making $700-$800 from my students alone (not counting my own annual membership). And he has the gall to insist on me paying for 2-3 minutes of time sitting at a table. I asked if there was charge if someone has a medical emergency and needs to sit, or a requirement to rent floor space if someone collapses. The guy at the front desk wasn't sure, but no doubt this will be next. BTW, the place was just about empty at the time; I was not depriving anyone of the use of the space. Absolutely disgusting.

From now on, I'm going to use a lane for each student, even when I am with the person in my shooting lane. I'm also going to push my students to meet at Cindy's in Severn instead.

shrinkwrap

MDS Supporter
    Apr 30, 2012
    MoCo
    Rent the use of a table? Man they must be doing some good drugs. I would have mooned them on the spot.
    The place is a dump, and at least one of the guys behind the counter is borderline nasty, yet Gilbert continues to come up with these stupid ideas that only alienate customers. What a fool.