• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • dan8480

Gun Addict
    Feb 23, 2008
    Adams County
    3ezuhysa.jpg

This is the target from the first batch of reloads. I don't have a chrono yet, so I'm not sure of the velocity. These are 150gn fmjbt, loaded with cfe223, and cci primers. I shot all 20 rounds, one after another, at 100 yds. 6 shots per powder level. I'm just shooting this off a bipod, sitting at the bench. I'm still learning to shoot this thing, so I'm getting better aiming it, I'm still getting used to shooting a scoped rifle, I've always used irons.

1-6 50gr
    6-12 51gr
    13-18 52gr
    19-20 53gr

Which load seems like its the best to continue with? I'm not great at figuring these things out yet, but I'm slowly learning, that's why I'm asking you guys for help. Seems to me I should start with the 52 grain group, and tweak it from there. But what do I do next? I know I can play with the bullet seating depth, but how far up and down should I go with it? Do you think a tenth of a grain or a half grain up or down would make that big of a difference in a large case like that?

SOMDSHOOT

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Nov 18, 2009
    Indian Head
    Well you have a lot of kill shots, but, I wouldn't take it in the field at this point. Another thing you need to do is use a different target for each load. I'd also suggest that you use a rock solid rest when testing new loads, otherwise, you're just throwing lead and not knowing what is actually do what. In my experience, load development, should only be done in a vise.

dan8480

Gun Addict
    Feb 23, 2008
    Adams County
    I agree with having a vice, its on my short list along with a chrono. So do I just need to give it up until I have a vice? There's gotta be something I can work with here...

Bolts Rock

Living in Free America!
    Apr 8, 2012
    Northern Alabama