• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • bkuether

Judge not this race .....
    Jan 18, 2012
    Marriottsville, MD
    I have been boating on the Chesapeake for 25 years. I have had launch dates as early as late March, and never later than April. (One year launched in June, but that was "new parent" related)

This year, due to the very late spring, I am going in on May 6th and that may be a stretch. It has just been too damn cold to be playing around with water outside. Yesterday, March 30th, was the second time down to start the commissioning process. Most boats still had their tarps/covers on including mine.

What is even more amazing, the marina indicated all weeks were still open, which has never happened this late in the game.

So how far back did your drop-in date get pushed back? (do you even have one?) Or did you brave the elements to stick to your usual schedule?

Mike H

Jan 9, 2013
    I've done next to nothing to get ready to splash it this year. We usually haul every other year and I don't have a set schedule. I've been busy every Saturday for the past two months driving down to Alexandria to help my dad and stepmom clear out their condo in advance of their move last week.

I have to find the partial can of left-over bottom paint so I can buy the same stuff. It did a fantastic job - two years later and still looks like it was just painted. My problem this year is that I have to rebed the railing stanchions - so as soon as I take off the shrink wrap I have to tackle this job - before I have the water lead issue I finally tracked down last year. So I have to coordinate the tune-up, the railing work, painting the bottom, fixing the canvas that took a beating from our glancing blow from Sandy and moving it back to our community marina -- heck, I'm getting tired just thinking of all of this. It will be a late launch this year for us.