• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • DOsniper

Mar 4, 2011
    Monkton, MD
    Hey guys, I'm pretty new to Frederick and looking to do some deer hunting this fall and winter but and vaguely familiar with the public hunting grounds in the area. This might be asking a lot of anyone, but would anyone be interested in taking a new guy like me along on a deer hunt this fall. By new guy I do not mean new to hunting, just Frederick. I have my MD Hunter's Safety Course and my own guns that I am very proficient with. I have been deer hunting with some friends on private land in the past in addition to a few bird hunts, but being new to the area I just don't want to go wondering out into the woods clueless to whats around. Any feedback would be appreciated as always, thanks.

davsco

Ultimate Member
    Oct 21, 2010
    Loudoun, VA
    green ridge state forest is only about 1.5 hours west of frederick. then new germany and savage river forests another hour or so west from there. not sure of how many deer there and how big, but thousands and thousands of acres of public hunting land.

Pale Ryder

Ultimate Member
    Jan 12, 2009
    Millersville
    Public lands- Frederick city watershed. I think its on Mountaindale Rd. Cunningham Falls State Park.

I used to hunt Cunningham alot. It was nice, just crowded during rifle season on Saturdays. During weekdays there were times I was the only one there.

Archery, if you haven't tried it opens up a lot of options.

camotruck

Oct 22, 2011
    Western MD
    You can go south in to MOCO or right on the fred co moco line on rt 28. I don't remember what the area is called but it's right there at the river.

CrabbyMcNab

Ultimate Member
    Feb 1, 2009