• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • EurAzn12

Mar 29, 2011
    Annapolis, MD
    So my graduation present is going to be a revolver of my choosing :party29: I'm looking to use it for ICORE, IDPA and USPSA. Not sure what to go with though! Any opinions for most all around wheelgun? I've been eyeing the S&W 686 SSR, but also looking at the 625. I have little experience with revolvers, only have an inherited S&W .357 magnum back home that's fun to shoot turtles with (it's a mid-west thing)

Thanks!

jimbobborg

Oddball caliber fan
    Aug 2, 2010
    Northern Virginia
    All of the cool kids at the national championships were running 686s with clips. I personally run a Ruger GP100 in IDPA since my S&W 610's barrel is too long for IDPA.

Boom Boom

Hold my beer. Watch this.
    Jul 16, 2010
    Carroll
    Of the two you listed, the 686 SSR. The 686 SSR is medium frame. The 625 is large frame and, as you probably know, requires moon clips. You'll probably need big hands for the 625 to be comfortable.

If it helps, I've been mulling the idea for a few months of buying a new S&W revolver. Easily my top choice is the 686 SSR, enough so that I checked on availability and pricing last week.

gmhowell

Not Banned Yet
    Nov 28, 2011
    Monkey County
    If it helps, I've been mulling the idea for a few months of buying a new S&W revolver. Easily my top choice is the 686 SSR, enough so that I checked on availability and pricing last week.

Are they available, or another victim of the election year psychosis?

WSM

Rugeritis
    Oct 8, 2009
    Lancaster, PA