• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Bosco1911

Oct 29, 2011
    Forest Hill
    I am looking into picking up another 1911. Most of mine are Kimbers but was looking at the Dan Wesson.
    Questions:

Anyone have experience with a Dan Wesson? From what I have read on other sites the fit and finish are top notch.

should there be any concern that they are now under CZ USA or this this a positive? I have never owned a CZ but my brother owned a Huglu prior to them being under the CZ name.

Mt Airy

Ultimate Member
    Nov 28, 2010
    Frederick county
    I read a few reviews I think The Valor is the one to get. I have no experience with there 1911s. I did have one of the revolvers 30 years ago when they first came out it was a real POS and I dumped it quick. You should do some home work and make a informed decision .
    I don't even know how much they want for the Valor.

wreckdiver

Ultimate Member
    Nov 13, 2008
    I have a Dan Wesson Pointman Major from the pre-CZ takeover. Former president Bob Serva contacted me personally about an issue I had with it and they fixed it on their dime. My gun is not as nice as the current gen Valor, but mine didn't cost $1800 either. The Valor is not on the MD list, but the Heritage is.

Bosco1911

Oct 29, 2011
    Forest Hill
    Im looking at the compact Dan Wessons so the MD list may cause me more hurdles it seems than a Kimber or a Colt. Especially if I wait for the ECO to come out. :banghead:

mikec

Ultimate Member
    Dec 1, 2007
    Off I-83
    Im looking at the compact Dan Wessons so the MD list may cause me more hurdles it seems than a Kimber or a Colt. Especially if I wait for the ECO to come out. :banghead:

Get in touch with your friendly local FFL and have him submit some DW handguns to the roster board.

mikec

Ultimate Member