Carry question, Absolute newby concidering going there, so excuse the simplicity)

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • joppaj

Sheepdog
    Staff member
    Apr 11, 2008
    MD
    Two terms for the same thing. There's only one carry license.

MJD438

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 28, 2012
    Somewhere in MD
    Maryland doesn't make a distinction between Concealed and Open - hence, Wear & Carry applies to both (in other words, one permit applies to both methods of handgun carry). CCW is typically considered to mean Concealed Carry Weapon. Example - in Virginia, anyone of legal age and non-prohibited status can openly carry a handgun with no "license" requirement from the state; however, to carry a handgun concealed, one must have a CCW permit recognized by the Commonwealth.

308Scout

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Mar 27, 2020
    Washington County
    Maryland doesn't make a distinction between Concealed and Open - hence, Wear & Carry applies to both (in other words, one permit applies to both methods of handgun carry). CCW is typically considered to mean Concealed Carry Weapon. Example - in Virginia, anyone of legal age and non-prohibited status can openly carry a handgun with no "license" requirement from the state; however, to carry a handgun concealed, one must have a CCW permit recognized by the Commonwealth.
    Until October 1. Open carry is verboten under SB1.

Threeband

The M1 Does My Talking
    Dec 30, 2006
    Carroll County
    "CCW" is just an unfortunate internet term that doesn't even mean anything.