• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Forager

Imported curmudgeon
    Feb 12, 2012
    In the Lion's den
    Okay, so not only am I new to the site, I'm new to MD.

What's the morass of crap one has to navigate in order to buy a handgun in this state?

I've bought, sold, swapped, traded, and otherwise tinkered, shot, and dealt with firearms for over 20 years now, in multiple different states. When I lived in Virginia and then later in North Carolina, there were quite a few gunshops that knew me by name and could pretty much bank on me being in there to buy something new about once a month (or more often... :o ).

Fortunately, I've got through most of the "hey, that's cool, I wonder what it's like" stage. ARs, AK, .380s, 9s, .40Short&Weaks, 10s, .32s, .44s, whatever... I've BT/DT on a LOT of stuff (I really don't even want to guess at how many firearms I've owned, and even less so at how many I've shot enough to get comfortable with).

That said, how does one actually buy a handgun in this state? Trying to decide how badly I'd REALLY need to have another one to go through whatever it is you have to go through here. Being in NC and VA, and VT before them, spoiled me, I guess.

mikec

Ultimate Member
    Dec 1, 2007
    Off I-83
    Start here, http://www.mdgunsafety.com/

Then visit gun shop, find handgun, pay a $10 fee to the state police and fill out a 4473 and MD 77R forms. Expect writers cramp with the 77R forms. (poor design) pay for handgun and then wait 8 days. If you have no criminal history the forms come back "Not Disapproved" and you take the handgun home.

The handgun has to be on the approved list, but if you are buying from a MD dealer, it is approved. New handguns must have a fired case but again if buying from a MD shop, they have them.