• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • snapshotmd

Aug 30, 2009
    Abingdon, MD
    I just found this chart on the IMR website.

So theoretically speaking, if I were to substitute a powder by selecting one that was close to it (within 1 or 2), and there was no loading data readily available for your cartridge, would the powder weight be more or less similar?

For example, if I were loading for 357mag and there was no Winchester 296 available, can I substitute with IMR 4227 and start out with the minimum recommended load for Winchester 296?

Mud Turtle

Jan 11, 2009
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Although I have been handloading for pistols, rifles, and shotguns for alot of years, I am no expert. I would never substitute a powder for another just based on burn rate. I want to see the load in a reputable manual or from an acceptable source. I would assume nothing. If there was no data for it, I would use another powder. I would be overly cautious. Just my 2 cents.

Oct 27, 2008
    Dundalk, Hon!
    I'm with Mud Turtle, use only published load data. This is what my reading tells me to say:

If you absolutely must try another powder, please start out 15% below the minimum recommended load for the one you're substituting it for, and increase it no more than 3% at a time.

Check for increased noise and recoil, case and primer indications or anything else that tells you you're approaching high pressure levels. If you see any sign of it, back off and stop 1 or 2 steps below that level.

I am not an expert, much less a daredevil, and perhaps that is why I still have two eyes and ten fingers. ;)

Last edited:

JRSpicer426

Dec 11, 2007