• Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • My daughter has just expressed she wanted to hunt big game animals like Elk, Caribou, Moose ect we will do deer this year and try for big game next year. I have no experience with hunting larger game other than deer, I was looking more to hunting elk (I think) because I wanted to stay in the lower 48 and pretty sure it would need to be a guided hunt. I'm also unsure on the best caliber to use for large game I have a few to choose from but not sure what's the best or if they are up to the task not opposed to a new gun but if what I have will work then that's fine with me. I have a Mossberg MVP in 7.62x51 (7.62 NATO), Remington 700 in 22-250, Westernfeild 30-30, & a Weatherby in 300 Weatherby magnum. I've never done anything like this so I'm also looking for some input and tips for this process from what to look for in guided hunts like what to expect, what to watch out for, what to prepare for on them like possible gear needed things like that. I appreciate any help and advice everyone has to offer.

lazarus

Ultimate Member
    Jun 23, 2015
    The 300 Weatherby would be my choice out of what you already have. Or go MVP with a 180gr. Though with the short barrel and .308, that is well less than ideal except for shorter range shooting. I would not want to be taking 400yd shots on an Elk or other large game with it.

Anyway, generally 30 caliber or larger is what you want, and .308 power levels or ideally higher. Especially if you are taking longer shots, which you very well are likely to be unless hunting in dense timber.

A .30-06 with a ~20+" barrel is about my personal minimum.