Anyone take a deer with a broken leg? how was the meat?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Joseph

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Oct 13, 2009
    Clinton MD
    I have been watching this buck since early October that has a broken hind leg. I finally got some good trail cam photos of him and have started to wonder if the meat on the broken hind quarter will be useable. I'm no doctor but it looks to me like his leg has been broken for a long time and the leg has atrophied. photos follow, tell me what you think and or if you have any similar experience.

I will go out with the bow Friday and/or Saturday and I will take him down given an opportunity but I have been wondering about the meat quality.

WGI_0002.jpg

WGI_0017.jpg

WGI_0019.jpg

BUFF7MM

☠Buff➐㎣☠
    Mar 4, 2009
    Garrett County
    I killed a seven point about 10 years ago that was missing the lower half of his front leg it looked like it had been broken and somehow got removed and healed over, I had no problem with the meat from that deer. His antler on the opposite side was misformed. I noticed on the picture that the antler on that buck is the same way, just wondering if antler growth has anything to do with an injury like that.

lx1x

Peanut Gallery
    Apr 19, 2009
    Maryland
    maybe just a deformed from birth (antler).. leg.. maybe got hit by a car?

last week.. another hunting club member took a shot at a doe w/ a bow couple weeks back.. never saw the deer until he showed us a picture from his trail cam.. eating the corn pile with a bow still stuck on the front shoulder.

FFMike