Any way for MD resident to take an AR-15 into DE?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • KRC

Sep 30, 2018
    Cecil County MD
    I believe there is some provision in the new laws to have AR-15's somehow registered in DE, at least for DE residents, that would allow for transport. Wondering if there is any way for an MD resident to do the same? I am an MD resident but belong to a range/club in DE and at present cannot legally bring my AR-15's into DE to shoot at this range. If there is such a method/registration, who would the contact be? DE State Police?

Mike1690

Jan 28, 2016
    I believe you would be covered by safe passage laws. So long as the firearm was legally purchased in your home state and properly secured with ammo separate , and you are traveling to a legitimate firearms related activity you would be ok. Back in the early 90s when the NRA was located in DC we would shoot at the range in the basement. I believe the same principle applies to your current situation.

BurkeM

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Jan 8, 2014
    Baltimore
    I believe there is some provision in the new laws to have AR-15's somehow registered in DE...
    Here's what I found-

The unconstitutional Delaware "Assault Weapons" ban, which is truly a ban on most commonly used semiautomatic firearms, was passed in June 2022 and is currently being litigated.