• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • CSHS

Apr 21, 2015
    I'm fairly new to 223 reloading. I'd like to accurately shoot to 300 yds. Targets mostly, an occasional varmint or coyote.

I've been using 24g of H335 with various 55g bullets. Getting approximately 2700 fps. Reloading manuals allow for a higher charge.

Should I bump up the charge to increase fps to closer to 3000? Accuracy has been good, will this help? What kind of velocity do you normally look for on your 223 reloads?

Thanks in advance.

BUFF7MM

☠Buff➐㎣☠
    Mar 4, 2009
    Garrett County
    I'm fairly new to 223 reloading. I'd like to accurately shoot to 300 yds. Targets mostly, an occasional varmint or coyote.

I've been using 24g of H335 with various 55g bullets. Getting approximately 2700 fps. Reloading manuals allow for a higher charge.

Should I bump up the charge to increase fps to closer to 3000? Accuracy has been good, will this help? What kind of velocity do you normally look for on your 223 reloads?

Thanks in advance.

I don't look for velocity from mine I look for group size, I'd rather have 5 shots covered by a quarter at 300 yards going 2600fps than 5 shots covered by a grapefruit at 300 yards doing 3000fps.
    I know it's not going to be that big of a difference but I'm sure you see where I'm going with this.
    Not saying that your 3000fps load won't group better than your 2700fps load but most of my loading seem to give me the best groups somewhere on the middle part of published load data.

BradMacc82

Ultimate Member
    Industry Partner
    Aug 17, 2011
    What firearm? Bolt action, semi-auto?

At 300 yards, I didn't look for maximum velocity. I looked for consistency, velocity was a bonus.