• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ChrissyN

Apr 5, 2013
    Westminster, Maryland
    Hey guys,

I'm looking into getting a little 22 rifle for plinking and to possibly use for apple seed. I'm doing some research online but, well... I'm new at this. Other than the AR I built and the glock I bought... my other guns have all been "impulse" buys.... I like it, I touch it, I hold it, it is mine. Sometimes they just feel right.

With a 22 though, I think they will generally all be easy for me to handle. I want to get something under 300$ but that is actually a pretty wide range... I'm familiar with many of the brands but I know that some good brands have "less than stellar" guns on occasion.

Any thoughts, ideas? Any particular websites I can check out that goes over ratings? Like a Kelly blue book for guns?

I could ask my hubby about this but he is working while I am home with a sick boy so my mind is wandering... :rolleyes:

hvymax

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Apr 19, 2010
    Dentsville District 28
    Marlin is a great value and accurate in stock form. The 10-22 is the pimpmaster chamelion champ. Tech sights are available for both which are worth it even if they cost as much as the Marlin.

Shamr0ck

Ultimate Member
    Aug 6, 2011
    Frederick
    Does the appleseed course of fire require or favor a semi-auto? If a bolt would do, Savage and CZ both make very fine bolt action rifles. Personally, I prefer the CZ for the old world looks and accuracy but have friends who swear by their Savage rifles and they are tack drivers.

If semi - can't go wrong with the ruger as there are plenty of accessories for them and plenty of aftermarket component manufacturers (Kidd, Volquartsen, Clark)

Good luck!

joppaj

Sheepdog
    Staff member
    Apr 11, 2008
    MD
    Does the appleseed course of fire require or favor a semi-auto?