• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • sjkblack

Dec 28, 2010
    Huntingtown
    Hello all...I am new to Calvert County/MD and had a quick question. I may be purchasing some land behind my house (about 15 acres), and it has a nice area where it would be perfect for target practice (down in a valley with a nice large hill to the back...natural backstop). My question is this...can you do target practice with various rifles on your own property? I asked a neighbor and he thinks you can only shoot rifles at authorized rifle ranges? What about clays? (again, on my own property)...thanks for any insight.

S Black

BigBlaze

FX4life
    Jul 26, 2009
    Huntingtown
    I was told by a Calvert county sheriff that you need only be 150 yards from the nearest domicile to be in the good on your own property... I shoot in the woods behind my parents house in huntingtown all the time...

BeltBuckle

Ultimate Member
    Feb 14, 2008
    MoCo, MD
    I was told by a Calvert county sheriff that you need only be 150 yards from the nearest domicile to be in the good on your own property... I shoot in the woods behind my parents house in huntingtown all the time...

That's my understanding as well. I spend a fair bit of time in Calvert and have heard that from several folks including close friends of the Sherrif, though I've got no direct confirmation. Sounds like the neighbor may be speaking to his wishes rather than the facts... which could, of course, augur other difficulties...

good luck!

jodavk

Nov 30, 2010