• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Fishguy

Ultimate Member
    Jun 30, 2009
    Montgomery County
    You guys have any suggestions? I'm in Damascus (upper Montgomery County) and looking for a place to do some squirrel hunting with a 22. I don't have friends in high places so I need work with public land.

Where can I go to have a fair chance getting squirrels?

jr88

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Mar 7, 2011
    Free?? State
    I would think any public hunting lands nearby would be fine for squirrels. Just check the Maryland DNR Website for locations. I have been hunting in greenridge state forest for 30 years, great for squirrels among other things. BTW I am about an hour further from GRSF than you so sometimes hunting is about getting out of town also, Md. has lot's of public lands with good hunting. Good Luck!

MDHunter

Ultimate Member
    Mar 12, 2007
    Free America
    Check out the Frederick Watershed or some of the public lands listed in the DNR Hunting Regs. Make sure to wear orange, and plan on some company unless you go during the week.

Erno86

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Aug 27, 2012
    Marriottsville, Maryland
    If you're going to go squirrel hunting in Green Ridge State Forest --- good luck --- because alot of the public hunting land in GRSF is shot out for squirrels. Even the chipmunks...are a rare sight these days in GRSF --- same goes for deer.

jr88

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Mar 7, 2011
    Free?? State
    If you're going to go squirrel hunting in Green Ridge State Forest --- good luck --- because alot of the public hunting land in GRSF is shot out for squirrels. Even the chipmunks...are a rare sight these days in GRSF --- same goes for deer.