• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • OrangeSpear

NRA Member
    Feb 4, 2010
    Owings Mills
    Im looking into purchasing my first rifle that will be designated for hunting. Mostly deer I assume. I am new to the sport of deer hunting.

So, im pretty set on only purchasing my rifle from Dicks Sporting goods. Why? well i have a coupon for $100 off a $500 purchase and I have a $100 gift card. They also have rebates and some are for Dicks only and some are from the manufacturer.

So im currently in the research phase before i purchase anything.

I took myself up to Dicks Sporting Goods (DSG) and started asking novice questions. Then I took my self home so i could then go to the omnipotent google and double checked what information i received. Which at this point im getting very conflicting information that i received from DSG.

Im not really stuck on Remington but they seem to have nice rebates, so does Tikka.

So I looked a DSG exclusive model of the Remington model 700 Varmint with
    the 26" Heavy contour large barrel. I was told by the associate that this comes in large calibers too. i.e. 30-06 and so forth. That this gun is in the Varmint category but can be used quite nicely for deer hunting. It just weighs a little more than other hunting rifles. Also that the larger contour barrel makes it more accurate!?

Then im looking in the DSG hunting catalog that they have out right now. And i notice that the rifles are split into 2 main sections Varmint Rifles and Big Game Rifles. So is it not advised to use a varmint gun for deer hunting?

Models that caught my eye:
    • The Remington Model 700 ADL stainless
    • Beretta Tikka T3 Lite w/scope
    • Remington Model 700 SPS bone collector edition