• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Bafflingbs

Gozer the Destroyer
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 16, 2013
    Calvert County
    Ok, so, if anyone knows me, or any of my posts on knives recently, you know that I am a total newb to fine knives. I've always had the cheapest of knives, including my EDC, $18 Gerber tanto folder, that I've carried for the last 3 years. And, up until about 2-3 months ago, I never even considered spending over $30 for a knife. Fast forward to May 4th, 10 days ago. My Zero Tolerance 0770cf arrived. It is a real beauty! :thumbsup: Up until then, I had never handled a knife that sharp. But me, never being satisfied, decided I wanted it even sharper. So, I ordered a Lansky's knife sharpener and polishing hones. One, is a fine grit diamond, and the other is a super fine sapphire. After watching youtube video on using this system:

[ytIDzlvWbHxTc[/MEDIA]
    I began reshaping my edge with the fine diamond hone. After I started to feel a slight lip on the other side, I flipped it over and repeated. When I was satisfied with the angle and edge, I began polishing with the sapphire hone. I didn't use any water or oil, per the video's advice. What I ended up with, cuts through paper without ANY weight pushing it, but it's own weight. That is fricken impressive, for my first grind. And a true testament to the Lansky system.
    BEFORE....
    IMG_0741.jpg

fidelity

piled higher and deeper
    MDS Supporter
    Aug 15, 2012
    Frederick County

Love the shine near the knife's tip in this "after" picture. Too funny. :lol2: