• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • pc1256

Jan 21, 2014
    Montgomery County
    I called United gun shop in Rockville today and ask about is the M&p 15 Sport edition, they said those are no longer legal in Maryland?

I thought these were legal as cash and carry because their HBar?

Someone educate me, I'm new to firearms.

-Z/28-

I wanna go fast
    Dec 6, 2011
    Harford Co
    They are not explicitly labeled an HBAR from S&W, so some shops won't take a risk. It does have a heavy barrel profile though, so it is legal. Just have to find a shop to sell it to you.

protegeV

Ready to go
    Apr 3, 2011
    TX
    I called United gun shop in Rockville today and ask about is the M&p 15 Sport edition, they said those are no longer legal in Maryland?

I thought these were legal as cash and carry because their HBar?

Someone educate me, I'm new to firearms.

:crazy: They must have changed their minds. I almost bought one from them and several other members DID buy one from them back in January.

Rapture

Total Loser
    Jun 5, 2013
    In the woods
    My understanding is that the M&P Sport (#811036/811037) was previously regulated and is not considered HBAR, therefore it is now banned. There are a few more threads regarding this very issue. BTW, it's an awesome rifle for the price.

spclopr8tr

Whatchalookinat?
    Apr 20, 2013
    TN
    You might find this thread useful:
    http://www.mdshooters.com/showthread.php?t=142949

Per Smith & Wesson (of course, what would they know about it?), the Sport does NOT have a heavy barrel.