• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Gabagool

Jul 11, 2013
    Harford County
    Hey guys,

I just turned 21 at the end of May, so I am new to buying regulated firearms.

I purchased a handgun July 11th and filled out paperwork on the 16th. Unfortunately, being my first firearm purchase, I didn’t go to an FFL that releases after 8 days. I just went to my dad’s place, so it will be a while before I see that gun.

I want to purchase an AR lower receiver, basically because I feel gypped that our governor has only given me 4 months to legally purchase the guns that I want before 10/1. I don’t have any experience at all building an AR, but it would be nice to have the option later on. I really didn’t have the money for the handgun or the lower, but I’ve decided I will just have to save more to replenish my savings account after 10/1.:innocent0

So my questions are:

Since I am not a designated collector, do I have to wait 30 days from the purchase of my handgun, 30 days from when I filed paperwork, or 30 days from when I receive my gun before I buy another regulated firearm?

If I am able to buy an AR lower before 10/1, what is a good make of lower, a good price to pay , and a good place to buy my lower?

Thanks for any help!

Edit: I guess the second question is actually 3 questions...whoops

BradMacc82

Ultimate Member
    Industry Partner
    Aug 17, 2011
    Believe it's 30 days from when the paperwork is sent out. If I'm mistaken I'm sure someone will correct me. :)

As for lower's, most of your bare lower's (and bare upper's) are basically made by a small handful of companies. Everyone has their own preferred brand, but if your not looking to break the bank - Palmetto State Armory has done alright by me. Their lower's aren't top tier, but your not paying top tier pricing as well.