• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mrgnstrn

Mar 18, 2014
    I am not a lawyer.

But I love seeing what else can be done with the opinion we got.

I found many many many interesting bits within it that might support opening gun rights in other areas, particularly the NFA stuff.

1. Short barrelled rifles
    In United States v. Miller, 307 U.S. 174 (1939), the Court rejected a Second Amendment challenge to the defendants’ convictions for unlawful possession of a short-barreled shotgun because there was no “evidence tending to show” that such a weapon was related “to the preservation or efficiency of a well regulated militia” or was “part of the ordinary military equipment,” id. at 178. Significantly, however, Miller noted that “ordinarily when called for [militia] service [able-bodied] men were expected to appear bearing arms supplied by themselves and of the kind in common use at the time.” Id. at 179; see Heller, 554 U.S. at 624-25 (“The traditional militia was formed from a pool of men bringing arms in common use at the time for lawful purposes like self-defense. In the colonial and revolutionary war era, small-arms weapons used by militiamen and weapons used in defense of person and home were one and the same.” (internal quotation marks and alteration omitted)).
    Interesting....the Military standard version of the M-4 uses a 14.5" barrel.
    If the standard is "weapons...[that are] port of the ordinary military equipment", why not the standard M-4?
    Hmmmmm.

In addition, although the opinion talks about what weapons *are* considered dangerous and unusual, I'm pretty sure they never once say short barreled rifles are in that camp.
    Hmmmm.