• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mdw1016

Jul 29, 2014
    I have read through SB281, mdsp.org, as well as a few other threads here but I have a few questions that I am hoping you guys can help me with. Please keep in mind that I am active duty military, I am an MS resident (pay MS state taxes, have an MS driver's license), all firearms I own were purchased well before 1 Oct 2013, I will be buying a house in your state but do not intend to become a resident (I just need a place to live while I am stationed here).

1.) Can I bring an M1A and AR-15 with their normal capacity magazines into the state as long as they were owned by me prior to 1 Oct 2013?

2.) Can I bring a Glock 19 and its normal capacity magazines into the state as long as they were owned by me prior to 1 Oct 2013?

3.) Am I required by law to register any firearms I bring into the state?

4.) If HBAR AR-15s are currently legal to buy, can it have "evil" features such as detachable magazine, bayonet lug, pistol grip, and flash hider?

I plan to leave this state ASAP, but just don't want to get thrown in jail while I am required to be here so thanks for your help! Regardless of the answers to the above, I do have a few firearms that should be MD legal and not require registration so if anyone near Ft Meade has advice on good ranges I'd be grateful.

Z_Man

Ultimate Member
    May 23, 2014
    Harford County
    1. yes
    2. yes, and it didn't matter when you owned the normal capacity magazines, you cannot buy or sell or transfer them in the state of Maryland. obtaining them from outside of Maryland and bringing them back in yourself is gtg.