What are purchase requirements in Virginia?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • tomh

Jul 21, 2008
    I'm a new Virginia resident (for a couple of years now) but am very fuzzy on what it takes to purchase a firearm.

I am a Virginia Resident, but my VA driver's license shows a North Carolina address, because my driveway opens up into NC. It's called a Postal Anomoly, because the NC mailbox is the only Postal Address I have. I pay VA Taxes, have VA tags on my vehicles, a VA telephone number, etc.

I have successfully purchased a firearm in Virginia before. But I was loaded up with all kinds of ID at the time. It just seemed I needed to explain my address and all seemed fine.

At a gun show at Price William Fairgrounds a couple of weeks ago, I tried to get my wife to purchase something, and the vendor refused. She only had her driver's license (same issues as mine) and he said it wasn't enough. I ended up making the purchase without issues, but the only other ID I offered was my Concealed Carry Permit. (For two AR15 receivers only)

What exactly are the requirements for a Pistol Purchase? A Rifle Purchase? An AR15 Purchase?