• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • GoGoGadget

Deplorable Member
    Mar 10, 2011
    A.A.Co. and Carteret Co. NC
    Hey all,

OK, so I'm very new to the AK platform. I just bought an Arsenal SGL21 from Mark at 2A. I'm lovin' it so far, but really want the option of making it a side folder without having to cut off the tang (just in case I want to change it back to the factory fixed stock in the future).

After looking at all the options, I think I just want to stay simple and put a Romy wire side folder on the rifle. Like this:
    http://www.cheaperthandirt.com/AKS004-1.html

Yeah, an ACE setup would be awesome, but that gets expensive quick, plus cutting off the tang is a non-reversable operation... Some of the other "no mod" side folder options just look wrong to me and also add a couple inches to the overall folded length.

So now that I decided on a Romy side folder, I cannot find them *anywhere!!*. I've spent hours googling, looking through sites of online vendors that sell AK parts, and reading this forum and others. No dice. Seems that they are "out of stock" everywhere.

Does anyone have a lead on a source for these things? Or perhaps know of an IP that stocks such items?

Thanks in advance!

-B

sandbanger

how's it going eisenhower
    Dec 14, 2010
    i would say search for some mis matched parts kits on gunbroker, but I will no longer use gunbroker so i can't recommend you to.

GoGoGadget

Deplorable Member
    Mar 10, 2011
    Thanks for the replies, all.

Clandestine,
    I trust your opinion about comfort. I just plan to use the AK for fun and SHTF purposes. I can't see an Arsenal Saiga conversion ever being a real "collectable" item. Is the cutting of the tang and installation of the ACE receiver block as easy as it sounds (i.e. hacksaw/dremel/file are all that are needed)?