Sighted in new Mueller APV, question about it...

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • takoma

Roving Bandito
    Apr 30, 2011
    Washington, DC
    So...

• I'm a newbie
    • I'm RH, left eye dominant
    • I've chosen to put a cheek pad on my RH Savage Mk II to bring my right eye up to the scope (left eye closed)
    • I've got a full sunshade on the Mueller APV scope

The eye relief is right on, and I'm shooting 2.5" groups at 50 yards, but a few things feel squirrelly:

1. I have to get my head cocked to the right just so, so I can get a clear picture with my right eye. If I move my head what feels like 1/4 inch one way or another, I lose my picture.
    2. When I sighted in, I clicked up and to the right approx. 25 clicks, both ways. That seemed like a lot to me.
    3. I didn't fool with the eyepiece focusing -- I wear glasses and it seemed focused right out of the box.

Thoughts on all this?

Thanks,
    -S.

Schwabe

Ultimate Member
    Nov 20, 2010
    Sho'a
    Did you level the scope with the rifle when you installed it? If the rings are not installed just right you may have to redo it, also how much distance do you have between the sun shade bell and the rifle? You want to get as close as you can without touching.

I believe I remembered you have a Savage Mark II, are you shooting off hand or bench rested? Bench rested, 2.5 inches seems big to me. Make sure you have the "exact" same sight picture everytime and no black/shade around it.