• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • pk64f100

Cold Dead hands
    Aug 24, 2013
    Carroll Co Md
    I have been thinking about this for some time now especially since the price of quality ammo for my 308 Win, 7.62x51, 35 Rem, 45 acp and 223, 5.56x45 have gone up so high. Since I am new to reload should I start with single knowing I will go very quickly once i learn how to a progressive set up? So my questions are which type press, which manufacturer and does it make sense with the state of our country and all new reg's?
    Thanks for any & all input!

DaemonAssassin

Why should we Free BSD?
    Jun 14, 2012
    Political refugee in WV
    I have been thinking about this for some time now especially since the price of quality ammo for my 308 Win, 7.62x51, 35 Rem, 45 acp and 223, 5.56x45 have gone up so high. Since I am new to reload should I start with single knowing I will go very quickly once i learn how to a progressive set up? So my questions are which type press, which manufacturer and does it make sense with the state of our country and all new reg's?

My recommendation is that you start with a progressive, preferably a Dillon RL550B. You can run the Dillon 550 as a singe stage or as a progressive, just by pulling 3 pins. Another advantage is the dies stay in a toolhead, so your not constantly adjusting the dies (happens sometimes on a single stage), in addition to that, when you want to change calibers it will take less than 5 minutes on a 550. As of right now, I am making some pretty accurate 308 match loads on my 550, running it as a single stage press. I would be willing to teach you how to reload if you are up for it.

I had 2 threads stickied in the reloading section, one is for a Dillon RL550B and the other is for single stage presses. The links to both threads are in my sig.

Start Here: DA's Sticky on MDS