• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Shamr0ck

Ultimate Member
    Aug 6, 2011
    Frederick
    I personally don't work on homebuilt AK's. Other Smiths may not have the same policy. There is no Law against working on homebuilt guns. After October 1 a gun with no Serial/MFG Markings can be a serious grey area.

Chad - given that many projects which started as 80%lowers likely wont have a serial number or mfg marking, what would you suggest a person do to avoid the grey area? Serious ?, not trying to be a smart ass and I'm new to the AR platform - just don't want o end up with a paperweight if I go this route.

Thanks

---
    Shamr0ck

iH8DemLibz

When All Else Fails.
    Apr 1, 2013
    Libtardistan
    For a Licensed FFL/Gunsmith to work on a firearm and (keep it overnight), he must log the serial number of the repaired firearm into his A&D (Aquisition and Disposal) book.

When he releases the firearm back to you, he would have to log it back out again.

Emergency repairs done same day don't need to be logged in.

No serial number---No repair work. Again, if held overnight.

Hope this helped.

clandestine

AR-15 Savant
    Oct 13, 2008
    Elkton, MD
    Chad - given that many projects which started as 80%lowers likely wont have a serial number or mfg marking, what would you suggest a person do to avoid the grey area? Serious ?, not trying to be a smart ass and I'm new to the AR platform - just don't want o end up with a paperweight if I go this route.

Thanks

---
    Shamr0ck

This is a just a personal policy I have.