• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • wtildens

Jan 15, 2013
    Hi everyone, I'm new to active military and new Maryland.

What are the procedures for buying a rifles?

Also I am planning on going to the Chantiilly Gun show this weekend, if i get lucking and can find a AR what will i need to do?

thanks for any info.

just to say, i have bought several guns, not a expert but have been shooting for years. (the laws here seem a lot different that Missouri)

Markp

Ultimate Member
    Dec 22, 2008
    What is your home of record?

You can buy a rifle interstate, but the rules differ depending on which state you will use for residency and which type of AR you purchase.

In my case, I was able to purchase as either a Texas resident or a MD resident while stationed there. I could buy a rifle in a state the allowed rifle and shotgun sales to non-contiguous states. The transfer has to occur at the FFL's location in the state that you are purchasing in, UNLESS you are a resident of that state (in this case you would need to be a VA resident to conduct a FTF transaction in VA.)

It's rather convoluted with regard to what you can and can't do. For instance if I was living in MD, but commuted to the Pentagon each day, and had a Texas home of record. I can actually purchase any legal firearm in ANY of three states: MD, VA, and TX.

If however I worked at Bethesda MD, lived in Washington DC, and had a Texas home of record. I would not be allowed to buy a firearm in VA, even though it could be done by a military member who commuted to VA each day.

Confused yet?

For example from the ATF FAQ:

Q: What constitutes residency in a State?