New Shooters: What Kind of Training Would You Want?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Art3

Eqinsu Ocha
    MDS Supporter
    Jan 30, 2015
    Harford County
    I appreciate your approach and experience but I see it a little differently. As a short intro, I have been a firearms and tactics instructor for my agency for about 22 years and have had the great fortune to attend a lot of training. While I agree recoil is something you have to deal with, I think there is huge value in starting with the .22. If the first 10 rounds scares the hell out of someone and makes them nervous about pulling the trigger I think you have created a bunch more battles you now have to fight that are not really necessary. I would prefer to start someone (particularly a new shooter) with a similar platform in .22 and work on the simple but important things. With a .22 you can work on hand position, sights, and trigger control and focus on the mechanics without all the movement. Think about baseball; how many kids would continue playing if the first pitcher they faced when they were 7 threw a wicked curveball and a 90+ fast ball? Everything you want to do well involves growing, and I would suggest that moving from .22 to 9mm or .38 is growth and rushing that may not be to your benefit. Once the person can draw, present, and press out a nice shot I would suggest a few hundred draws as slowly as you can with one shot at the end of each (then 2 and then 3), then a nice slow return to the holster and start again. In my experience a new shooter's biggest enemy is the holster (and draw stroke),