• Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • RealtorMatt

I pulled the trigger on my Tikka T3 Lite Stainless in 30-06 for my hunting rifle I will be taking with me up north this fall/winter on some hunts.

I now need to get some glass for it. I would like to stay $400 or less (definitely no higher than $500). My range of shooting will probably be 50 yards to no more than 300 yards. I would also prefer a variable scope.

I was looking at Nikon (Buckmaster or Monarch), the Vortex Diamondback, Leupold VX 2 - I am just not sure what the best value is at this level of scope.
    While not new to shooting, I am relatively new to hunting - so something with good eye relief that I can pick up targets quickly on would be preferred.

Any good recommendations from experienced hunters out there?

byf43

SCSC Life/NRA Patron Life
    I have several Nikon scopes, and I like them a lot!!!
    Buckmaster, ProStaff, Omega and Monarch. Very good glass for the $$$.
    (I've got a Buckmaster on two different rifles that are tackdrivers at 200+ yards.)

Nikon Buckmaster in a 4-12x or 4.5-18x is plenty for hunting. You'll probably use the magnification at about 7 to 9x, anyway, for anything past 75 yards.
    4x is more than enough at 75 yards down to 50 or even 25 yards.

The Leupold VX-II is also a GREAT scope!!!!

Look at Natchez Shooters Supply and Midway USA.
    Midway USA usually gives free shipping on their Nikon scopes.

stu929

M1 Addict
    Jan 2, 2012
    Hagerstown
    Also check ouf swfa the sample list. Can find skme great deals on open boxes there.

I got a buckmaster from them for a pretty sweet deal a few years ago.

armed ferret

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Sep 23, 2008
    McDoogal's
    +1 on prostaff