• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • sst4270

Jun 23, 2012
    Glen Burnie, MD
    Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum and relatively new to gun ownership. Please pardon a brief introduction before the question.

I learned to shoot on a 22 plinker in the 70's by my dad who was a Vietnam Vet. Fired many firearms in the mean time. Purchased my first rifle last year, a 10/22. Heavily modified it and it is a dream to shoot. Fired my first AR back in April and was hooked. I had to have one so I purchased a complete lower (april 20) and it is sitting at the FFL in Glen Burnie probably until August. (Don't want to add fuel to that fire) Then I discovered 80% lowers. I have over 15 years of machining experience with manual mills, lathes, and CNC mills and I've built my own functioning CNC router... so the 80% lower will be relatively easy to complete. I've ordered a few. The first should arrive sometime in next couple of weeks.

This past weekend I was at Hawk Hill Custom in Virginia purchasing some accessories and told the salesman what I planned to build and he said something interesting to me. He stated that it was his understanding that if I built more than one (1) 80% lower that it would be considered manufacturing and I'd either have to have a firearms manufacturing license or I would need to serialize them AND get them transferred to my name through an FFL. I've read the ATF letters that have been posted regarding 80% lowers, and the text of the documents do not refer to a limit (unless I missed it).

So my question is this: Is there a limit legally on how many 80% lowers I can build strictly for my own personal use? I don't ever plan to sell them. I just want to build a few different configurations. 16", Pistol, maybe HBR...

My intent is to complete these builds prior to Oct 1 and meticulously document them.