HQL Training: Do you issue a certificate?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • HQL Training Certificates: To issue, or to not issue?

• I'm an HQL trainer, and I DO issue Certificates of Training.

Votes: 6 75.0%
    • I'm an HQL trainer, and I DO NOT issue Certificates of Training.

Votes: 0 0.0%
    • I may or may not be an HQL trainer, but I think that certificates SHOULD be issued.

Votes: 1 12.5%
    • I may or may not be an HQL trainer, but I think that certificates SHOULD NOT be issued.

Votes: 1 12.5%

• Total voters

TTMD

Ultimate Member
    Nov 10, 2012
    Some HQL trainers issue students a certificate of training, and some do not.

I'm interested in hearing different perspectives on why certificates should or should not be given to students.

Is it as simple as it's just easier/fewer logistics & expense to not do it, or perhaps there are deeper reasons?

Thanks for your input!

CypherPunk

Opinions Are My Own
    Apr 6, 2012
    Instructors are required to issue a certificate under COMAR 29.03.01.37

.37 Qualified Handgun Instructor — Generally.
    C. Upon a person’s satisfactory completion of an applicable firearms training course, a Qualified Handgun Instructor shall:
    (1) Provide the person a Firearms Safety Training Certificate that includes:
    (a) The person’s name and date of birth;
    (b) The instructor’s name;
    (c) Whether the completed course was a Firearms Safety Training Course or a Handgun Permit Training Course;
    (d) The length in hours of the course;
    (e) The date of course completion;
    (f) The location of the training;