How to properly torque suppressor mounts?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ericoak

don't drop Aboma on me
    Feb 20, 2010
    Howard County
    So all my suppressors have recommended torque settings for their suppressor mounts. I am no tool expert, but the only torque wrenches I have ever seen look like the picture below and are used for sockets. How do you use a torque wrench with an open head that is needed to fit around the suppressor mount? Is this a completely different tool?

Attachments

• torque-wrench.jpg
      torque-wrench.jpg
      23.4 KB · Views: 957

clandestine

AR-15 Savant
    Oct 13, 2008
    Elkton, MD
    You use a bit that looks like a chopped down open end wrench that has a square opening for the torque wrench to click into. I think it's called a crows foot or something. FYI, some are too wide to fit the small flats on some mounts so pick the right ones for your application.

FYI, most suppressor mounts call for a good amount of torque so stupid people don't have things loosen up, but it's excessive and can unnecessarily stress the last 1/2 of the barrel which can effect accuracy, and some rare cases even bullet stability.

I clean the threads well, apply rocksett, and install to 15-20 foot points MAXIMUM. This will hold the mount and impart minimal stress.

cap6888

Ultimate Member
    Oct 2, 2011
    Howard County
    I just got the new SDTA flashider, it doesn't need to be timed to a certain position. Should I still use a washer, or is Rocksett and a torque wrench all I need?

BigDaddy

Ultimate Member
    Feb 7, 2014